THE ASSOCIATION

Editorial

In a lifetime, no one can be prepared for news like this.

Ours changed on September 30, 2019 when we learned of Arthur's disease.

Very quickly, two solutions are available to you: either give up and drop everything, or raise your head and fight for Arthur, for his twin brother Jules and for all those around us.

We chose the second alternative and it is in this sense that we decided with the help of our close friends to create this association in order to overcome this new daily life differently and to help research on diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma.

With these lines, it is not a message of sadness that we want to convey but rather of hope, humanity and solidarity. This support, this kindness, these attentions, this generosity, this presence that we receive every day are a breath of fresh air in the middle of this whirlwind of emotions.


If the creation of Les Etoiles Filantes seemed to us somewhat premature at the beginning, we quickly understood that it would be something extremely positive. Being in action has always been a driving force in our daily lives and all this energy that emerges in the actions that we are going to carry out with the Association help us to support Arthur and Jules a little more calmly in this ordeal.


With all the people involved in Les Etoiles Filantes who represent different moments in our personal and professional lives, we know that we will go far, very far and that together we will add life to the days if we do not add days to life.

 

Sandie & Alexandre

After 8 months fighting like a superhero, Arthur left to join the stars on May 27, 2020. At every moment, he gave us a lesson in strength and courage, a lesson in life quite simply. The solidarity, the love, the tenderness that Arthur has managed to unite around him are all engines that have allowed us to support him until the end of this ordeal. Thanks to him, we have been able to add life to the days, failing to add days to life. It is up to us to continue, all together, to make it shine and to support all the other children affected by this disease.

Realize the dreams of children with a brain stem tumor.

Nos missions

Provide human, material and financial assistance to families of sick children.

Help research on the diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma.

Learn more about the disease

Each year, 50 cases of DIPG (Diffuse Intrinsic Pontine Gliomaare diagnosed in France.

What is DIPG?

DIPG, or diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma, is a type of brain tumor found in an area of the brainstem known as the pons. The name diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma describes how the tumor grows, where it is found, and what kinds of cells give rise to the tumor.

This type of brain tumor is very rare and mainly affects children from 5 to 10 years old.

 

To date, these diffuse and infiltrating tumors are inoperable and there is no effective treatment for this cancer. Generally, radiotherapy is chosen to treat the tumor in the short term but this has only a transient and palliative effect.

 

DIPG is an unpredictable disease, which evolves quickly and the outcome of which is generally fatal within 9 to 12 months following the discovery of the tumor.

When it seems impossible to add days to life,
so let's add life to the days !

  • Instagram

© 2019 Les étoiles filantes. contact@lesetoilesfilantes.org

Edito

Dans une vie, personne ne peut être préparé à l’annonce d’une nouvelle comme celle-ci.

La nôtre a basculé le 30 septembre 2019 lorsque nous avons appris la maladie d’Arthur.

Très rapidement, deux solutions s'offrent à vous : soit baisser les bras et tout laisser tomber, soit relever la tête et se battre pour Arthur, pour son frère jumeau Jules et pour tous ceux qui nous entourent.

Nous avons choisi la deuxième alternative et c'est en ce sens que nous avons décidé avec l’aide de nos amis proches de créer cette association afin de surmonter différemment ce nouveau quotidien et aider la recherche sur le gliome infiltrant du tronc cérébral.
 

Par ces lignes, ce n’est pas un message de tristesse que nous voulons transmettre mais plutôt d'espoir, d'humanité et de solidarité. Ce soutien, cette bienveillance, ces attentions, cette générosité, cette présence que nous recevons chaque jour sont une bouffée d’air frais au milieu de ce tourbillon d’émotions.


Si la création des Etoiles Filantes nous est apparue quelque peu prématurée au début, nous avons très vite compris que ce serait quelque chose d'extrêmement positif. Être dans l'action a toujours été un moteur dans notre quotidien et toute cette énergie qui se dégage dans les actions que nous allons mener avec l’Association nous aident à soutenir un peu plus sereinement Arthur et Jules dans cette épreuve.


Avec toutes les personnes impliquées dans les Etoiles Filantes qui représentent différents moments de nos vies personnelles et professionnelles, nous savons que nous irons loin, très loin et qu’ensemble nous ajouterons de la vie aux jours à défaut d'ajouter des jours à la vie.

 

Sandie & Alexandre

Après 8 mois à se battre comme un super-héros, Arthur est parti rejoindre les étoiles le 27 mai 2020. A chaque instant, il nous a donné une leçon de force et de courage, une leçon de vie tout simplement. La solidarité, l'amour, la tendresse qu'Arthur a réussi à fédérer autour de lui sont autant de moteurs qui nous ont permis de l'accompagner jusqu'au bout de cette épreuve. Grâce à lui, nous avons su ajouter de la vie aux jours à défaut d'ajouter des jours à la vie. A nous de continuer, tous ensemble, à le faire briller et de soutenir tous les autres enfants atteints par cette maladie.

Nos missions

En savoir plus sur la maladie

Chaque année, 50 cas de gliome infiltrant du tronc cérébral sont diagnostiqués en France.

Ce type de tumeur cérébrale est très rare et touche principalement les enfants de 5 à 10 ans.

 

À ce jour, ces tumeurs diffuses et infiltrantes sont inopérables et il n'existe aucun traitement efficace pour ce cancer. Généralement, la radiothérapie est choisie pour traiter la tumeur à court terme mais cela n’a qu’un effet transitoire et palliatif.

 

Le gliome infiltrant du tronc cérébral est une maladie imprévisible, qui évolue rapidement et dont l'issue est généralement fatale dans les 9 à 12 mois suivants la découverte de la tumeur.

Quand il semble impossible d’ajouter des jours à la vie,
alors ajoutons de la vie aux jours !

  • Instagram

© 2019 Les étoiles filantes. contact@lesetoilesfilantes.org